Katrin Sigurdardottir

Katrin Sigurdardottir (Icelandic, b. 1967)
Boiserie (detail), 2010

Right now at the Metropolitan Museum of Art there are two very wonderful sculptures by Katrin Sigurdardottir, a mid-career artist. I saw the first sculpture when I felt like going to the Met for a little bit of fun in November. The sculpture was very fabulous in its own unique way. It’s a small French room that is painted all white. There is much great detail in this sculpture from the mantel hanging in the center to the perimeter of the floor. This sculpture is in a dark room with only the sculpture being lit up like a lantern. Because the room out side the sculpture is so dark it makes the inside of the sculpture look really really bright. Although I enjoyed this instillation, for me the room felt a little too blank. Even though there was some really fine detail, I think that Katrin could have added more to the floor, the ceiling, the fabric of the walls and furniture. If you are at the Met and you are really into art and architecture then I do suggest that you see this. If you’re more into paintings then you may pass if you’d like.

