“The Battle Is With Yourself”

“The Battle Is With Yourself”, what do you think this means?

Today my teacher Mr. Rosado was giving my class our daily inspirational speech about art. The thing that struck me about this particular speech was that he said “The Battle Is With Yourself”. To me this meant a lot. Some people think that artists have the easy life and its easy to be an artist. My mom sometimes says that I “Jolly” off to Spring Street. Yes I do admit I love to go to Spring Street to do my daily figure drawing lessons, but she says it like drawing is the easiest thing in the world. And I hate it when she says that because she doesn’t know the emotional stress drawing is, especially when your trying to push yourself. Now I told her this, I hope she understands me alittle bit better.

Art isn’t just lines on a paper, it’s about how you put those lines together. Drawing doesn’t just come naturally to people not even Pablo Picasso. Picasso started drawing at a very young age with his father, who was an art teacher. Pablo had to work really hard to get to where he became.

Art takes time and practice but if you want to be the best you have to work the hardest. That’s my motto and I will stick to it until I’m dead. The battle isn’t just with the pencil or paint, but with yourself. You have to want to push yourself and not just draw or paint one way. Open your eyes and think about the new possibility you can accomplish, because I can tell you this, not one famous person is famous because they stay the same way all the time. I know that I have to be very divers and think about how I can make my work even better. I might not be like Rembrandt or Picasso but I will have my own flare.

The battle is with yourself, to be better than you already are.

