Splendid Playground

Till May 8th at the Guggenheim Museum there is this amazing exhibition up called Gutai- Splendid Playground. The word Gutai means concreteness the total opposition to what the work in the exhibition really is. The works are made from Japanese artists around 1954–72, during this time many Japanese artist began to question art and what art really is.  You just really have to see it for yourself because this is an exhibition I just can not explain in my own words.

Gutai 1 Gutai 3 Gutai 4

I have been so inspired about this exhibition that I am right now experimenting any way I can with paint, performance, sound, video, anything.

To find out more click here -http://www.guggenheim.org/new-york/exhibitions/on-view/gutai-splendid-playground

2 thoughts on “Splendid Playground

Comments are closed.