The Queen of Collages

Le Noble Savage – Ink & Collage – 7’6″ x 5’6″, Noble Salvage – A person who has not been corrupted by civilization.

To day I was talking about collages with my co-worker, Victoria. She said that she loved collages and how she loves making hem with her sister. I on the other hand don’t see how people can like collages. I have always saw collages as a 5 year old craft or just taking out colors from magazines and using then to fill in a picture not using the subject from the magazines at all. That in my opinion is known as a stereotypical collage.

I will bow down to the person who can create a collage that can set my mind in aww. And the person I bow down to is Wangechi Mutu. I  call her, Kara Walker: the collage version. The first Time I ever saw her work was it the fall of 2013 taking a tour at the Brooklyn museum ( I apologize for not writing about her sooner). The collages were huge, the one above is around 7.5 feet. First you notice the size, than the people, the fuzzy background, next the magazines, the thin paint lines and final the story.Just the size could scare anyone away. Wangechi Mutu has created giant monsters who’s beauty takes time and thought to see.

Sadly I can not just describe her work to do it justice with such a vague memorie. So if you want to learn more just click here.

 

 

