Aiming for Perfection

Everyone knows that there is no such thing about perfection or being perfect. Heck the most beautiful things in life are imperfect. So why do some of us aim for it?

It has been about 5 weeks since I started my time at PAFA (Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts). The first few weeks were easy, but I find still find myself continue to struggle in this one class, Cast Drawing. PAFA is known for having one of the largest collections of casts in the country. Reason why PAFA students are taught to be masters at drawing from the cast.

My first cast drawing I thought I had this thing down, turns out my teacher tells me that my drawing of Venus is to thin and that the face needed more life. My opinion at the time was, “It’s one millimeter off, (trust me I measured it with a ruler) and I’m drawing from a statue why does it need to have life?” Thankfully she told me I could just use tracing paper to fix everything instead of redoing it.I have learned my lesson on using tracing paper with cast drawing. Just because your tracing over another drawing doesn’t mean you should stop looking at the cast. So my tracing of my cast drawing turned out worse then my original. My teacher said that I could just erase certain parts to make it easier, because everything was 1/2 millimeter off and somethings needed to be moved a little to the left or a little to the right or a little bit higher or just a tad bit lower. I was so mad that I just decided to do the whole thing over again. And you know what my second time was way better than my first.

During long hard process, I learned how to analyze something and how it takes time to get something right. Perfection isn’t just there to intimidate us, but for us to reach for something. If your always think that everything you do will never be perfect. Then the highest chance of perfection you could ever get is 99.99%. What about that .001%? Wheres that? It’s that little percentage of you giving up and being lazy. It’s you saying “It’s good enough”. You will not survive for very long in this world if you keep saying “It’s good enough”. Aiming for perfection is hard, but you would always learn more by trying to make it.

